UMAC Leadership Team

UMAC is dependent on communicators in annual conferences, general agencies, local churches and extension ministries to provide leadership and to make our annual meetings as informative and useful as possible. Our team is comprised of people elected during our UMAC annual business meeting. In recent years, UMAC has elected people and assigned them to “classes” to indicate when their term expires. Communicators serving on the leadership team may run once for re-election.

Our current leadership team members, as well as the year their terms expire and eligibility to run for re-election are listed below along with email addresses for your convenience.


Mark Doyal

Michigan Conference

Chairperson Emeritus

Rev. Art McCLanahan

Iowa Conference


Rick Wolcott

East Ohio Conference


Evelyn Warren

Public Relations Consultant,
Charlotte, N.C.

Leadership Development

Jessica Brodie

South Carolina United Methodist Advocate

  • Email:
  • Term expires: 2020
  • Eligible for re-election or to run for other office

Executive Director

Royya James

United Methodist Communications

At-Large Members

Class of 2019

Tyrus B. Sturgis

United Methodist Communications


Class of 2019

Todd Seifert

Great Plains Conference

Class of 2019

Cathy Bruce

Kentucky Conference

Class of 2020

Tara Barnes

United Methodist Women, New York



Class of 2020

Jasmine Haynes

Mississippi Conference

Class of 2020

Andra Stevens

Africa University Development Office, Nashville